Six MPs from the 2015 intake declare support for Brexit

Six more Conservative MPs, all from the 2015 intake have come out in favour of Britain exiting the European Union. Their names are as follows:

Anne-Marie Trevelyan, Berwick-upon-Tweed

James Cleverly, Braintree

Royston Smith, Southampton Itchen

Craig Mackinlay, South Thanet

Paul Scully, Sutton and Cheam

Scott Mann, North Cornwall

The news will come as a boost for Brexit campaigners, hoping that their declaration of support will encourage many other Eurosceptic Tory MPs to follow suit. Already there are reports of several other Tory MPs of the 2015 intake looking to publicly back Brexit in the coming weeks.

Among the group, James Cleverley MP has been particularly outspoken against the EU stating that;

“The case for a new relationship with European and global economies is overwhelming. The EU too often hinders Britain’s ability to trade across the globe and pursues discriminatory policies that hold back developing nations. We need new relationships and the only way that will be possible is to Vote Leave.”

You can see our interview with James Cleverley at Conservative Party Conference 2015 here.

Thomas is director of Conservatives for Liberty. Follow him on Twitter: @Thomas_Stringer

Follow @con4lib on Twitter

Like Conservatives for Liberty on Facebook

The views expressed in this article are that of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of Conservatives for Liberty